Published On: Sun, Mar 19th, 2017

Yogi Adityanath Takes Charge Of UP With 43 Ministers In Cabinet


Yogi Adityanath – the five-time BJP member of parliament from Gorakhpur and the head priest of the Gorakhnath temple – took oath today as Uttar Pradesh’s new chief minister along with two deputy chief ministers and a 43-member cabinet. The ceremony at Lucknow’s sprawling Smriti Upvan complex was attended by BJP President Amit Shah, many union ministers and BJP chief ministers from other states as well as party veterans like LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi. Congratulating Yogi Adityanath, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who had shared stage with him, tweeted, “I have immense confidence that this new team will leave no stone unturned in making UP Uttam Pradesh. There will be record development.”

1.In a series of tweets, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said, “Our sole mission & motive is development. When UP develops, India develops. We want to serve UP’s youth & create opportunities for them.”

2.Huge arrangements were made for the BJP’s massive show of strength to celebrate its landslide win in the state. Around 100 people shared the massive stage at Lucknow’s 96-acre Smriti Upwan, where the oath ceremony was held. Almost one lakh people attended the ceremony.

3.Among the cabinet ministers who took oath are Swami Prasad Maurya, Satish Mahana, Rajesh Agarwal, Ashutosh Tandon, Chetan Chauhan, Sidharth Nath Singh and Rita Bahuguna Joshi. Former cricketer Mohsin Raza is the Muslim face of the cabinet.

4.After the oath ceremony, Yogi Adityanath is expected to hold a cabinet meeting and address the press. Senior party leaders have said the priority for the new government will be placing a ban on slaughterhouses.
Accused of being a polarising leader by political rivals, Yogi Adityanath sought to make clear on Saturday evening that as chief minister, his focus will be to deliver on PM Modi’s development agenda and ensure good governance in Uttar Pradesh.

5.“I will take UP forward with the PM’s motto of sabka saath sabka vikas,” said Mr Adityanath said soon after it was announced that he would be chief minister.

6.Senior state BJP leader Keshav Prasad Maurya, who was said to be one of the contenders for the top post, but was chosen as Yogi Adityanath’s deputy, said he was not upset about the decision. “UP is a big state, so it must have been a considered decision to appoint two deputy Chief Ministers… the party is like my mother – will do whatever it says.”

7.Dinesh Sharma, who has been Lucknow Mayor for many years and led the party’s membership drive in the state, will be the other deputy Chief Minister. Known to be extremely close to PM Modi and Amit Shah, the 53-year-old professor of Lucknow University took the number of BJP members in the state from about a crore to more than 11 crore.

8.None of the three top men in the Uttar Pradesh government – the Chief Minister designate and his two deputies – are legislators from the state. They will have to stand for election within the next six months.

9.Yogi Adityanath became India’s youngest parliamentarian in 1998 after being elected at the age of 26 from Gorakhpur. His name began to do the rounds as the leading candidates for the chief minister’s post on Saturday afternoon.

About the Author


Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>